Public Health


Understand and communicate public health patterns and insights. Location intelligence is key to identifying community resources, monitoring infectious diseases, and informing digital public health transformation.

a map that has circles on it and lines coming out of them

COVID-19 Canada Hub


Esri Canada is monitoring activity of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) and providing resources for response, business continuity and reopening.

View the Hub

Create a healthier community.


A geographic approach to public health gives you the advantage to gain a deeper understanding of your vulnerable communities and population’s health, assets and services.

Areas of Focus

Previous
Next

Monitor, plan and respond to disease outbreaks and epidemics


Monitoring diseases and conditions that can cause serious public health threats is critical to building healthy communities. Tracking the source and spread of disease can be enhanced by adding location analytics and demographics. Location data tells a more complete story that can help communicate patterns and provide insights.
 

The dashboard on the left provides up-to-date information as the situation around COVID-19 consistently progresses throughout Canada. In it you will find statistics about: total cases, recoveries, deaths, age & sex distribution, contraction sources and case details. 

View Dashboard
Esri Canada COVID-19 dashboard
safety-48

Combat substance misuse and the opioid crisis


The opioid epidemic constitutes a state of emergency in many places. GIS is a proven technology that benefits law enforcement, health organizations, and human services. Mapping and analyzing their data together clearly shows a crisis situation that requires local governments to look for insights, pinpoint the sources of the problem, and deliver effective response plans and allocation of resources.
 

The map on the left represents the results of using the Network Analyst tool in ArcGIS Pro to determine healthcare service areas in Greater Vancouver.

View map
 Network Analyst tool in ArcGIS Pro to determine healthcare service areas in Greater Vancouver.
government-community-planning-48

Build a healthier community


To deliver programs and services that align with needs, it is critical to understand what your community's makeup is today and what it will be in the future. Data is the currency from which you can analyze how well you are placing health-related services in the paths of people and improving access. GIS allows you to match health and healthcare to population needs, address disparities in accessibility, provide health organizations with key metrics, and inform and educate constituents.
 

The map on the left measures the proximity of dissemination blocks in Winnipeg to any neighborhood park within a one kilometre walking distance, overlaid with obesity rates among adults. 

View map
Proximity of dissemination blocks in Winnipeg to any neighborhood park within a one kilometre walking distance, overlaid with obesity rates among adults
environment-mountains-48

Understand the needs of environmental health


Environmental health agencies can use GIS to develop their practices by using insights into various business functions, such as facility assessments, hazardous waste, and policy development. In a sea of change, location plays an important part in the convergence of social and health services with people and communities.
 

The map on the left was developed by the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources to show areas of Nova Scotia where people are more likely to be exposed to radon in indoor air.

View map
Map showing areas of Nova Scotia where people are more likely to be exposed to radon in indoor air
analytics-concept-48

Predict and analyze climate change risks


The relationship between climate change and health is complex, as is emergency preparedness and resourcing. Investments need to be made to improve monitoring, data analysis, and situational awareness, so that communities can build resiliency to emergency events. GIS can distill complicated relationships into easy-to-understand visual representations to help guide public health and emergency preparedness.
 

The map on the left was created by the City of Montreal. It represents the urban heat island effect in Montreal, where the central portion of the city is more vulnerable to the urban heat island effect since it has higher population density and less vegetation.  

View map
Map showing urban heat island effect in Montreal

Training Course

  • ArcGIS Online Essentials: Public Health Edition

    Online

    Learn more
Previous
Next

Highlights


We can help. Contact Us.

Santé publique


Comprenez l’information sur la santé publique, dégagez des tendances et communiquez le tout. L’intelligence de localisation est essentielle pour trouver des ressources communautaires, surveiller des maladies infectieuses et orienter la transformation numérique de la santé publique.

Analyse de la circulation grâce aux données massives dans la ville moderne.

Le portail COVID-19 Canada


Esri Canada surveille l’évolution de la COVID-19 et fournit des ressources en matière d’intervention, de continuité des activités et de réouverture des entreprises.

Consultez le portail

Créez une communauté plus saine.


Une approche géographique à la santé publique vous permet de mieux comprendre la santé de vos communautés et populations vulnérables, ainsi que vos actifs et services.

Activités visées

Précédent
Suivant

Surveiller les épidémies, s’y préparer et y répondre


La surveillance des maladies et des conditions susceptibles de constituer de graves menaces pour la santé publique est essentielle à la création de communautés saines. Le suivi de la source et de la propagation des maladies peut être amélioré grâce à des analyses de localisation et à des données démographiques. Les données de localisation racontent un récit plus complet qui peut aider à communiquer des tendances et à fournir des renseignements.
 

Le tableau de bord de gauche fournit des renseignements actualisés au fur et à mesure de l’évolution de la situation entourant la COVID-19 dans tout le Canada. Vous y trouverez des statistiques sur le nombre total de cas, les guérisons, les décès, la répartition par âge et par sexe, les sources de contagion et les détails des cas. 

Voir le tableau de bord
Tableau de bord d’Esri Canada sur la COVID-19
safety-48

Lutter contre l’abus de substances et la crise des opioïdes


La crise des opioïdes constitue un état d’urgence dans de nombreux endroits. Les SIG sont une technologie éprouvée qui profite aux organismes d’application de la loi, de santé et de services sociaux. La cartographie et l’analyse de l’ensemble des données de ces organismes montrent clairement une situation de crise qui exige des administrations locales qu’elles cherchent à comprendre, qu’elles trouvent les sources du problème, qu’elles mettent en place des plans d’intervention efficaces et qu’elles affectent les ressources adéquates.
 

La carte de gauche représente les résultats de l’utilisation de l’outil Network Analyst d’ArcGIS Pro pour définir les zones de services de santé dans le Grand Vancouver.

Voir la carte
Outil Network Analyst dans ArcGIS Pro pour définir les zones de services de santé dans le Grand Vancouver
government-community-planning-48

Construire une communauté plus saine


Pour offrir des programmes et des services qui répondent aux besoins, il est essentiel de comprendre la composition actuelle de votre communauté et celle qu’elle aura à l’avenir. C’est grâce aux données que vous pouvez analyser dans quelle mesure vous facilitez et améliorez l’accès aux services de santé. Les SIG vous permettent de faire correspondre les services de santé aux besoins de la population, de remédier aux disparités en matière d’accessibilité, de fournir aux organismes de santé des mesures clés, et d’informer et d’éduquer les citoyens.
 

La carte de gauche mesure la proximité des îlots de diffusion de Winnipeg par rapport à tout parc de quartier situé à moins d’un kilomètre de marche et superpose ces données aux taux d’obésité chez les adultes. 

Voir la carte
Proximité des îlots de diffusion de Winnipeg par rapport à un parc de quartier situé à moins d’un kilomètre de marche, superposée aux taux d’obésité chez les adultes
environment-mountains-48

Salubrité de l’environnement : quels sont les besoins?


Les agences de salubrité de l’environnement peuvent utiliser les SIG pour développer leurs pratiques en se servant des renseignements qu’ils procurent aux fins de diverses fonctions opérationnelles, telles que l’évaluation des installations, la gestion des déchets dangereux et l’élaboration de politiques. Dans une situation en pleine évolution, la localisation joue un rôle important dans la convergence des services sociaux et de santé auprès des personnes et des communautés.
 

La carte de gauche a été élaborée par le ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour montrer les régions de la province où les gens sont plus susceptibles d’être exposés au radon dans l’air intérieur.

Voir la carte
Carte montrant les régions de la Nouvelle-Écosse où les gens sont plus susceptibles d’être exposés au radon dans l’air intérieur
analytics-concept-48

Risques liés au changement climatique − prévision et analyse


La relation entre le changement climatique et la santé est complexe, tout comme la préparation aux situations d’urgence et l’affectation de ressources. Il faut investir pour améliorer la surveillance, l’analyse des données et la connaissance de la situation, afin que les communautés puissent renforcer leur résilience face aux événements d’urgence. Les SIG peuvent représenter des relations complexes grâce à des éléments visuels faciles à comprendre pour aider à guider les décisions de santé publique et la préparation aux situations d’urgence.
 

La carte de gauche a été créée par la Ville de Montréal. Elle représente l’effet d’îlot de chaleur urbain à Montréal, la partie centrale de la ville y étant plus vulnérable puisqu’elle présente une plus grande densité de population et moins de végétation.  

Voir la carte
Carte montrant l’effet d’îlot de chaleur urbain à Montréal

Cours de formation

  • Fondements d’ArcGIS Online : édition santé publique

    En ligne

    En savoir plus
Précédent
Suivant

Faits saillants


Nous pouvons vous aider. Contactez-nous.