Skip to Content

Join us on November 4th for the first Next Gen 9-1-1: Improving Public Emergency Communication with GIS virtual seminar.

Across Canada, the public safety 9-1-1 community is facing a critical, pivotal moment in its history. The existing 9-1-1 system was designed in an era of landline telephones and assumes the calls are coming from fixed, known addresses. Today, most emergency calls originate from smartphones and IP devices, often while away from home. As a result, these changes are driving this historic evolution to next-generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1).

What is next-generation 9-1-1?

NG9-1-1 is the transition of 9-1-1 from analogue systems to IP-based systems. The change will enhance emergency number (9-1-1) services to create a faster, more resilient system allowing voice, data, photos, videos and text messages to flow seamlessly from the public to 9-1-1.


Read the official CRTC Emergency Services Working Group FAQ

TIF92 GIS (Mapping) and Common Addressing

FAQ

Powering Public Safety


The effectiveness of the NG9-1-1 system will be dependent on the GIS data it uses. What is required is a rapid update system that can consume and aggregate GIS data, built from authoritative sources which meet public safety (NENA) standards.

Together with the national Emergency Systems Working Group (ESWG), Esri Canada has been engaged in developing this data model and standards specification; it is currently assisting organizations with their management processes with respect to civic addressing standards, data governance and NG9-1-1 strategic planning.

Esri Canada’s team of GIS, transportation, municipal and public safety subject matter experts can perform data gap analysis, technical compliance assessment, QA/QC and staff training for organizations to get on the road to NG9-1-1.

 

Would you like a complimentary and confidential NG9-1-1 consultation? 

New Brunswick Blazes the Trail on Getting its Data Ready for NG9-1-1

The New Brunswick 911 Bureau is responsible for ensuring the effective and efficient delivery of 9-1-1 service to the province. The Bureau has developed AddressNB, a point-based, web-centric civic address system, and is the aggregating authority for the New Brunswick Road Network (NBRN). Watch this video to find out how these two functional elements have significantly improved GIS data availability for 9-1-1 operations and paved the way for Next-Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1).

Learn about the Esri Canada Address Management app

Highlights


Get started

Want to get on the road to NG9-1-1? Please fill in this form.

Skip to Content

Partout au Canada, le milieu de la sécurité publique vit un moment charnière de son histoire. Le système 9-1-1 existant a été conçu à l’époque des téléphones filaires et suppose donc que les appels proviennent d’adresses fixes et connues. Or, aujourd’hui, les gens qui lancent un appel d’urgence le font souvent à l’extérieur de leur domicile et, la majorité du temps, avec un téléphone intelligent ou un appareil IP. C’est ce changement technologique qui est à l’origine de la transition majeure vers le service 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1PG).

Qu’est-ce que le service 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1PG)?

Le 9-1-1PG résulte de la transition des systèmes analogiques du service 9-1-1 vers des systèmes IP. Ce changement vise à améliorer les services d’urgence (9-1-1) afin de créer un système plus rapide et plus résilient qui permettra au public d’acheminer facilement des appels vocaux, des données, des photos, des vidéos et des messages texte au 9-1-1.

Lire la FAQ officielle sur le Groupe de travail Services d’urgence du CRTC

Formulaire TIF 92 SIG (cartographie) et adressage commun

FAQ

Assurer la sécurité publique


L’efficacité du système 9-1-1PG est tributaire des données SIG qu’il utilise. Ce qu’il faut, c’est un système de mise à jour rapide qui peut exploiter et regrouper les données SIG provenant de sources officielles qui répondent aux normes de sécurité publique (NENA).

En collaboration avec le Groupe de travail Services d’urgence (GTSU) canadien, Esri Canada a participé à l’élaboration de ce modèle de données et à la détermination des normes. Elle aide actuellement les organisations dans leurs processus de gestion en ce qui concerne les normes relatives aux adresses municipales, la gouvernance des données et la planification stratégique du service 9-1-1PG.

Êtes-vous prêt pour le 9-1-1PG?


L’équipe d’experts en matière de SIG, de transport, et de sécurité publique et municipale d’Esri Canada mènera une évaluation de l’état de préparation SIG au service 9-1-1PG pour s’assurer que vous êtes prêt.

Le Nouveau-Brunswick prépare de façon exemplaire ses données pour le service 9-1-1PG

Le Bureau 911 du Nouveau-Brunswick est chargé d’assurer un service 9-1-1 efficace dans la province. Le Bureau crée AddressNB, système web d’adresses municipales, et constitue l’autorité de regroupement des données du Réseau routier du Nouveau-Brunswick (RRNB). Visionnez cette vidéo pour découvrir comment ces éléments fonctionnels améliorent considérablement la disponibilité des données SIG pour le service 9-1-1 et ouvrent la voie au service 9-1-1 de prochaine génération.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’application Address Management d’Esri Canada

Faits saillants


Lancez-vous

Vous voulez prendre le virage 9-1-1PG? Veuillez remplir ce formulaire.